About Pondicherry

Pondicherry is a Union Territory of India formed out of four enclaves of former French India and named after the largest, Pondicherry.
The Tamil name of Pondicherry is Puducherry, which means "New Town". In September 2006, the territory changed its official name from Pondicherry to Puducherry. It is also known as "The French Riviera of the East".